Scales and Measurements – RFJ Day 62

Lately I’ve been having dreams of people I loved then lost. My Grandma, who always gave great Christmas gifts and started my classic book collection. My other Grandma, who gave me my first journal when I was 7 years old. My Pastor’s wife, who I lived with for a while, that became my second mother. In these dreams I’m so happy to see them. I stare at them or hug them and just can’t believe I get to see them again. These dreams are great, but I can’t help wish that they could be a part in my raw food/weight loss journey today. Their own lives would have been improved by this lifestyle, as mine has.

I saw this picture recently of two old ladies saying they were together through thick and thin, asking each other if they remembered when “thin” was.  I understand that it’s meant to be a beautiful picture on friendship, but I also see that their lives became so busy they let themselves go, they put other people or things or laziness before their own health. That’s not a beautiful picture to me. That’s not the kind of person that I want to be anymore.  I want to give my health 100% so that I know I’ve done everything possible to have the best life I can, to seize every opportunity and to contribute what God put me here to.

Now to my week: What a change this week has brought! Bicycling has been great. Despite my sore butt, I’m quite happy to keep up this exercise for the moment. Since it’s a little harder to read and bicycle, I’ve been filling my Netflix movie cue up. I’ve even been “killing two birds with one stone” by watching some Christian family films, so I can positively impact my mind and body at the same time! (I’m ever the dual tasker).

Physical update:

This week for the first time ever, when I enter my food/exercise into MFP (myfitnesspal) and click “complete this entry” and it calculates, based on today, what I will weigh in 5 weeks, I am consistently seeing numbers under 200 lbs. I haven’t been under 200 in over 10 years. That’s a pretty great feeling!

I measured myself back on January 25th at 210 lbs and then I measured myself February 13th at 206.2 lbs and I’d lost 2 1/2 inches in my waist and ribs, 1 3/4 in my chest and hips and 1 1/2 inches in my thighs. YAY!

I’ve been feeling quite hungry lately, so I’ve been eating between 1500 and 2000 calories daily. I’ve been riding my bicycle about 100 minutes daily and burning about 1000 calories each day in exercise alone.

My stress levels have been very high. I saw this picture of a t-shirt that says “I run to burn off the crazy.” That’s what I’ve been doing while bicycling –  riding to burn off the stress and frustration. This is a wonderful change from stress eating. I’m thankful to see this change in myself.

For a better life: make every day a little better than yesterday!

Leave a Reply

