My Scale, My Frenemy – RFJ Day 69

The scale is just not budging below 200. I’m 206.6, then 209, then 208, then 206.6 again. Getting to 210 meant I lost 25 lbs, so I think I’ve hit my first real plateau. I’ve not been under 200 in ten years.  In 2010, I went to China for a month and got to 212, then in 2011 I hiked the Northern Tier at Mt. Ranier and got to 202, but I haven’t actually broken 200, so I think my body is fighting it. However, I am still losing inches and I’m feeling better because of the exercising I’ve been doing, so I’m going to keep up what I know is right and I’m sure I’ll break the 200 lb barrier soon.

Mid-week begins what I call the “Hungry Days”. Not, Old Me’s,  usual overeating, but those few days a month when I am like a ravenous beast ever on the prowl.  Thursday was one of those days for me. I consumed 2300 calories and when I went to bed my stomach did not feel full, I could have had hundreds more calories in snack food, but I didn’t. I exercised for 2 hours and 12 minutes on the bike and burned (according to MFP) 1200 calories or so.  Then, I wake up Friday morning and just feel heavy. I get on the scale, although not sure why I should bother because I’m sure I’m up in weight, and it turns out I’m 205.4!  The scale might stay there, but for today I’m so thankful to not be looking at 206.6!  Also I guess it’s just a testimony that we need to do the right thing even when we aren’t seeing any progress or when we “feel” like the results wont be there. Just be consistent. Change will come.

My body is beginning to feel tired and sore. My legs ache any time I walk up stairs. Friday I rode my bike for 1 hour and 47 minutes and decided to stop and give myself a break.  My legs were getting so tired my reps were slowing and if I had been on the road outside I would have been traveling probably 5 mph or less.

Ending this week on a note of slow progress.  Friday night I weighed (just for fun) at 207 and then I woke up this morning and weighed 204.8. I must say it felt wonderful to be back to 204 (my juicing weight) when I’m eating so much! Then I went back to bed and got up about 15 minutes later and weighed 205. Ha! It did bring some questions. Where does 3 lbs go at night when I sleep? How can 6 oz come back in 15 minutes? I’m not really obsessing over this, but maybe someday when I get some spare moments I’ll remember these questions and Google them.

 

Leave a Reply

